Skip to content Skip to footer


College of Martin Luther King, his father, Martin Luther King, Sr., and his maternal grandfather, A.D. Williams.

Founded in 1867, originally as the Augusta Institute in Augusta, Georgia and moved to Atlanta in 1879 becoming Atlanta Baptist Seminary.

• The curriculum resembled that of High School. John Hope an educator became President in 1906 where he expanded the curriculum and it became Morehouse College.

• In 1929 it came into partnership with Atlanta University and Spelman college to share resources.

• In 1978 the Morehouse School of Medicine was founded as part of the college and became independent three years later.

• Additional notable alumni, Martin Luther King, Jr. Civil rights leader, Julian Bond and, Filmmaker Spike Lee.

In 1867 it was established as Augusta Institute 2 years after the civil war as a historically black college for men in order to train former slaves to be Protestant ministers and educators. The institute relocated to Atlanta from Augusta, Georgia and became known as Atlanta Baptist Seminary and the students attended classes in the basement of Friendship Baptist Church.

• In 1880 John D. Rockefeller donated land and the school moved to its present location in southwest Atlanta.

• In 1913 under the leadership of first African President John Hope the school’s name changed to Morehouse College in honor of Dr. Henry Lyman Morehouse a white, northern-born minister and prominent member of the American Baptist Home Mission Society of New York who had donated funds to the college.

• Today the current enrollment is approximately 3,000 students and offers twenty-six majors in three academic divisions: Business Administration and Economics, Humanities and Social Sciences, and Science and Mathematics.


Source –

Graves Hall, Morehouse College, June 11, 2016
Photo by Thomson200, Public domain